2018 Republican Primary Recommendations

The philosophy behind our endorsements for public office closely follows the Buckley rule: we support the most conservative candidate with a viable path to victory. We hold our candidates to a high standard when it comes to doing what it takes to win an election, and will not ask our volunteers to work hard on behalf of a candidate who is not working hard themselves. It isn’t enough to be a conservative. Our candidates must also be serious about winning to deserve our support and have a game plan that does not solely rely on endorsements to carry them across the finish line. While raising money is crucial to any campaign and political expenditures have skyrocketed in the past decade, conservative underdogs have more of an advantage to challenging establishment candidates than ever before thanks to social and alternative media, as well as better technology to aid in grassroots “sweat equity” – something the establishment has a hard time tapping into. Before we make an endorsement in a race, we extensively analyze all aspects of a candidate’s path to victory before we commit our organizing efforts to providing the “thumb on the scale.” By holding our endorsement process to this standard, those who look to us for information can trust that our candidates are true conservatives worth throwing their weight behind.

Candidates who receive an “endorsement” are the most conservative candidate in their race with a path to victory, as well as a record that proves they are more than just talk. Candidates who receive a “recommendation” may not yet have a public service history or voting record they can point to, or may simply be the best option for conservative voters.

Based on these guidelines, the Texas Patriots PAC offers its candidate endorsements and recommendations in contested races as follows (click links to read our discussion of the race): 

U.S. Senator, Ted Cruz (Endorsed)

U.S. Representative District 8, Kevin Brady (Recommended)

Governor, Greg Abbott (Endorsed)

Lieutenant Governor, Dan Patrick (Endorsed)

Attorney General, Ken Paxton (Endorsed)

Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar (Recommended)

Commissioner of the General Land Office, No Recommendation

Commissioner of Agriculture, Sid Miller (Recommended)

Railroad Commissioner, Christi Craddick (Recommended)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2, Jimmy Blacklock (Recommended)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4, John Devine (Recommended)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6, Jeff Brown (Recommended)

Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Sharon Keller (Recommended)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7, Barbara Parker Hervey (Recommended)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8, Dib Waldrip (Recommended)

State Senator, District 3, Robert Nichols (Recommended)

State Representative, District 3, Cecil Bell Jr. (Recommended)

State Representative, District 15, Steve Toth (Endorsed)

State Representative, District 16, Will Metcalf (Recommended)

Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District, Place 3, Leanne Johnson (Recommended)

Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District, Place 4, Hollis Horton (Recommended)

District Judge, 221st Judicial District, Lisa Michalk (Recommended)

District Judge, 284th Judicial District, Kristin Bays (Recommended)

District Judge, 359th Judicial District, Kathleen A. Hamilton (Recommended)

County Judge, Mark Keough (Recommended)

Judge, County Court-at-Law, No. 1, Dennis Watson (Recommended)

Judge, County Court-at-Law, No. 2, Claudia Laird (Recommended)

Judge, County Court-at-Law, No. 3, Patrice McDonald (Recommended)

Judge, County Court-at-Law, No. 4, Mary Ann Turner (Recommended)

District Clerk, Melissa Miller (Recommended)

County Clerk, Mark Turnbull (Recommended)

County Treasurer, Melanie Bush (Recommended)

County Commissioner, Precinct 2, Greg Parker (Recommended)

County Commissioner, Precinct 4, Jim Clark (Recommended)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Wayne L. Mack (Recommended)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, Grady Trey Spikes (Recommended)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3, Matt Beasley (Recommended)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4, Jason Dunn (Recommended)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, Matt Masden (Recommended)

County Chairman, Terrence Boggs (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 13, Brian Crumby (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 16, Wally "Doc" West (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 17, Samuel Allison (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 29, Maureen Ball (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 35, Jon Paul Bouche (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 40, Henry Daniels (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 57, No Recommendation

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 60, Andy Nedrow (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 66, Adrian K. Kaiser (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 70, Jack Munich (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 77, Robin Walsh Dupuy

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 78, No Recommendation

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 86, Jennie Stephenson (Recommended)

Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 96, No Recommendation

Ballot Propositions, YES to ALL